Empty

I suck socially

17 posts in this topic

Hi, guys!

I have been working on myself for over 3 years now, but I still suck socially!! 

What is the solution? 

@Empty there is no other alternative. you have to go towards your fears. find the proper dosage for you and face it everyday. gradual exposure is the best strategy.

unborn Truth

What helped me was just to speak what came to mind. 

If you speak what ever come to mind you will find it is much easier to start a conversation with someone else(of course also with taking responsibility for what you are saying)

Edited by BjarkeT

I'm currently reading the social skills guidebook. I've enjoyed it so far. You might also find it of value.

maybe try to be aware of your focus, if you can, shift it to curiosity. Taking the focus off of ourselves can be a great way to get out of your own head about being socially awkward

Accept that you're not social. If you feel like you're forced to talk to people because it's "normal" this will cause anxiety.

Black is white. Down is up. Bad is good. -Eric Tarpall

Sounds like you simply lack experience.

So go get experience.

You are God. You are Truth. You are Love. You are Infinity.

Get in touch with that aspect of you that loves and thrives on social interactions. That part must exist if you are interested in becoming more socially adept. If you deeply connect with that aspect of you, you will find that it is effortless to engage in social interactions. The more you do this, the more experience you’ll get with being around people. You’ll be able to prove to yourself more and more that you are a social person.