sleeperstakes

Why do we need truth?

26 posts in this topic

Do we need truth with a capital "T" to live a fulfilling life? I don't have a deep understanding of how it's important. Surely plenty of people can still love their life without knowing the nature of reality, that God is nothingness etc. I'm not asking this to provoke, genuinely interested.

Unless you know the Truth, you're not even alive. You're only alive when you're dead.

I dont think that "truth" is a requirement for living a good life. I think that "truth" is a neurotic construct that leads to more and more information which everybody and nobody needs. I am a scientist and I do work on certain issues to improve recent standpoints of science. But this is just my job. I dont try to find the absolute truth or something. My happiness is found within my peaceful way of living and breaking certain barriers in my life.

And whats the point of knowing the truth that probably nothing really matters? Whats the point of believing in a god or defying him? Whats the point of thinking that nothingness is everything? None of it is absolute. So is the word "truth". Everybody creates their own definition of "truth". 

Would you rather live a life fulfilled by lies or be fulfilled by embodying what's actually true? 

There is no truth with a capital 'T', this is just a misuse of the word truth to satisfy the ego's desire to 'know' the answer to the 'big questions' which is really no different than it's desire to 'know' the answers to all the little questions, too.... the ones of the little 't' truths.

So one can have a fulfilling life without seeking it.

Edited by SOUL

You decide whether it matters to you. You're just going to live a much better life if you embody Truth. Not that you won't live a decent life fulfilled by lies and stories you tell yourself.

You don't need to do anything.