Barbara

Thoughts on dropping out of college

38 posts in this topic

I'm 21 and I'm studying law in college. I don't like it and don't want to pursue it.

This is the 4th and last year of college, I only have like 7 months left to finish it. Back in september, when classes started again, I was very confused about the whole thing, lacked a lot of clarity, so I decided to finish this year and meanwhile using all my free time to find my LP. 

But things changed:

I'm now doing the LP course, and I'm generally so excited about life and its possibilities. I wish to learn so many different things in many different areas. I spend my days, thinking about my LP, always paying attention to every opportunity that could arise, that can make me grow and be more prepared for the authentic life. I try to detach as possible from the excitement tho, since I've also experienced some downs that follow it. 
But now, it's December and in January I have exams and it's one of the most intense times for students, which will leave me almost no time to do what I really wanna be doing. 

So it boils down to this: I haven't found my LP yet, but I'm in great creative tension that requires exploration and action, basically, time. Every book, course and skill I want to learn, will happen anyway, but being in college at the same time, will take me longer. At the same time, 7 months will make the difference between being graduated or not, even tho if it's only for the sake of having a meaningless diploma. (I should say tho, that I have the belief that I would be taken more seriously professionally if I had a law degree. Do you agree or I should treat it as a limiting belief and go on?)

So, I would love to hear what you have to say about this. I know that I'm the only one who can make this decision and I'm not really looking for answers, only insights and thoughts of those lovely green and yellow heads of yours :x

Thank you so much for taking the time

Edited by Barbara