Cody_Atzori

Trouble with self-inquiry..

17 posts in this topic

I’m a beginner to self-inquiry and for the last week I’ve been having a problem not associating myself with my body. My mind justifies it as if I’m not the body how come I expereince everything from the perspective of my body. If the ‘I’ has no location how do I experience everything  from the perspective of the body. If the body is just a thought or a feeling, wouldn’t that be the brain/body going meta and just thinking about itself or experiencing the sensation of iself. Additionally, if the body is just a visual experience and can’t be me because it changes, shouldn't that be pruicley who I am, a forever evolving human being. 

I'm not trying to seem closed minded, but my mind is lost in the idea that I'm the body. Can someone please give advice on how I can transcend my assumption that I am the body, Or try to refute my justifications?

A body exists with sensations and it has convinced itself it is an I. If you put a shoe on your foot how come you dont believe that you are that shoe? Its attached to you isnt it? Are you your hair?

Your nails?

Your legs?

Keep deconstructing and eventually youll get to what you really think you are; a perceiver.

Edited by Rilles

Dont look at me! Look inside!

You can ignore your body or give it attention to specific area and you are aware of that that means you are not the body

@Outer I’m just practising meditation... Can i do self inquiry or should I do???? I just want to be aware of my mind... IM a medical student... I don’t want to be deep in these stuffs but is it OK to practise self inquiry to improve my life quality????? ? Thanks

?IngitScooby ?

8 minutes ago, Ingit said:

Can i do self inquiry or should I do???? I just want to be aware of my mind... IM a medical student... I don’t want to be deep in these stuffs but is it OK to practise self inquiry to improve my life quality?????