Huegeleisen

How to sit down and do the work?

14 posts in this topic

In about 3 weeks I‘ll have one of the most important exams I ever had at school. If I started studying tomorrow or at least this week, I could still easily get an A or an A+ for it. I know exactly what I need to do and how to study.  Also after this exam, I won’t have school anymore, so I‘d only need to push for these last 3 weeks. 
The problem is: I literally can’t sit down and concentrate. For the last 2 months I‘ve been wasting my time with YouTube Shorts or normal YouTube videos after school every day.

After that I won’t ever have to study for an exam again while having school, so I‘ll have a lot of time for life purpose and self-actualization. 

How can I push one last time and finally get myself to sit down and do the work?

Seek a mentor

“I once tried to explain existential dread to my toaster, but it just popped up and said, "Same."“ -Gemini AI

You can read the book 'Do the work' by Steven Pressfield.

Or go to YouTube and find summary of the book!

By seeing the benefit it will bring you to decide to sit down and do it.

If you don't see the benefit, you won't do it!

🕉️

You just need to sit down at a desk and do it, there's no special trick to it. Find a quiet space where you can study away from your PC or phone so that you can study free from any distraction. A local library or the library at your school would work. Dedicate a few hours each day as time where you are going to sit in that space with only your books/laptop and study, no Youtube or mindless scrolling allowed. Make sure you show up consistently everyday. After you've done studying enjoy the rest of the day however you like.

On 08/03/2024 at 10:05 AM, Yimpa said:

Seek a mentor

Do you think it's realistic for him to be able to find a mentor in the 3 weeks that he needs to be studying?

If he was able to find a mentor tomorrow how would that be helpful for his situation?

2 hours ago, Pav said: