erik8lrl

Obsidian + ChatGPT

21 posts in this topic

I've been using Obsidian for note-taking for 3 years, and it has been a great app for organizing and connecting ideas and thoughts. 

But recently, I found this plugin that allows you to connect ChatGPT with Obsidian and basically talk to your notes and find insights and connections. It does a great job of finding recurrent ideas/themes or generating new ideas across thousands of notes. 

https://github.com/brianpetro/obsidian-smart-connections
Just thought I'd share this. 

Thats really cool and useful

Very cool.

You are God. You are Truth. You are Love. You are Infinity.

Could it be? My dream come true?

"Unburdened and Becoming" - Bon Iver

◭"89"

3 hours ago, StarStruck said:

Is this possible with OneNote?

Not the exact same, but Copilot is on OneNote I think.  
The power of Obsidian is that you can connect different notes with tags and links, which allows ChatGPT to read and understand your note structure.  

1 minute ago, erik8lrl said:

Not the exact same, but Copilot is on OneNote I think.  
The power of Obsidian is that you can connect different notes with tags and links, which allows ChatGPT to read and understand your note structure.  

I find Obsidian too gimmicky. Sometimes there is beauty in simplicity. 

I structure my common placebook through page level. It goes only three level deep but it is still good. 

I also use hyperlinks but I don't think AI is that advanced to understand it all. 

It is amazing how fast AI develops though. I can have interesting conversations with it already. Most people seem boring compared to AI. 

20 minutes ago, StarStruck said:

I find Obsidian too gimmicky. Sometimes there is beauty in simplicity. 

I structure my common placebook through page level. It goes only three level deep but it is still good. 

I also use hyperlinks but I don't think AI is that advanced to understand it all.