Majed

Can’t do stuff that i don’t enjoy

14 posts in this topic

I just can’t study anymore, because, well there’s a couple of reasons: first i’m in my last year of high school and i am afraid of failing because i’m just not interested in the studies like i am genuinely disinterested plus last time i was contemplating this issue i had the insight that i’m not matching with my studies that they’re not something that i want and that life ain’t limited to school, so i decided to quit school but my parents forced me to come back or they were going to leave me on the streets. I can meditate, read, contemplate, songwrite... because i feel enjoyment whereas when i study even if i do study for like 3 hours i don’t feel fulfilled i feel empty like i have wasted 3 hours, last time i studied for 10 hours for a physics test and i got like 2/7 shit is depressing, i can’t study and i’m not effective at it, i think it is also related with that i’m at the pluralist stage of ego development, and at this stage you’re more “now” oriented than to the future and that you want your career to allow for self expression and creativity, plus i watched a couple of videos from pluralist people and they were struggling with the same stuff regarding work etc... 

Edited by Majed

The only solution is to start doing things you don't really want to do but which are simple enough that it doesn't take much effort, then you'll naturally (NOT by force) want to do more things. Make your bed, run around the block, take a cold shower for one minute, read one page of a book.

You're suffering from a perceived lack of agency because of how debilitating the tasks in front of you seem. You may be a pluralist in your thinking but you haven't integrated the discipline of the conformist.

sometimes you have to do the crap in order to make time for the things you love

try and make a life where you do the things you enjoy more often