Ferretab

In The Midst of Despair

17 posts in this topic

Hello.

I'm meditating daily for hours, even when I'm working. I strive to remain as conscious as possible. I have a lot of experience with the present moment and I can access concentration in less than ten seconds. Not to brag but I'm in the "Alpha Brain Waves" state the whole day; I have my EEG that can measure my brain activity.

With that being said, a wave of nihilism bubbles up; I feel like everything is meaningless, beyond concept and theory. Although most of the time I feel great, at some point, I'll feel that consciousness is pointless.

It is a spiritual depression, not a chemical imbalance. I have my life together and I truly love and enjoy my hobbies.

Do I need to convince myself that life is a gift and that reality is truly beautiful? I see that but it's not enough. My spiritual depression is persistent.

Edited by Ferretab

54 minutes ago, Ferretab said:

Do I need to convince myself that life is a gift and that reality is truly beautiful? I see that but it's not enough. My spiritual depression is persistent.

Nah, you can't really kid yourself I don't think. I think the real issue is that you believe that life should have meaning, that you can't live without it because life seems pointless if it doesn't have meaning.

I think it's on the level of emotion that you need to focus - how does this apparent meaningless make you feel? Become very intimate with your felt experience when you contemplate this question, notice exactly what's going on within you without thinking about it.

'When you look outside yourself for something to make you feel complete, you never get to know the fullness of your essential nature.' - Amoda Maa Jeevan