Sibila Gubanc

Coffee And Meditation

20 posts in this topic

I'm new to meditation and I want to ask those of you who have more experience what are your thoughts on consuming caffeine before meditation? Do you see any benefits in that? I often get sleepy when meditating and i feel like this would help..? I just want to make sure it is not counter productive. So, what do you think? Share your thoughts please, thanks! :)

I am aformer coffe drinker and a former caffeine tea drinker and I have been meditating for over a year. I only drink caffeine free tea nowadays and some green tea of I've had a rough night and need to meditate about 30 minutes after I wake up. I would recomend getting rid of it but thats just my personal preference.

Hallå

Try quality tea, it has more or less a potent effect. Relatively positive. Btw Oolong tea can be used to negate the effects of eating before meditating

You should eliminate caffeine (and all stimulants) from your diet. Especially if you're doing serious meditation. Even tea isn't recommended.

Your mind has to be running pure.

You are God. You are Truth. You are Love. You are Infinity.

10 minutes ago, Leo Gura said:

You should eliminate caffeine (and all stimulants) from your diet. Especially if you're doing serious meditation. Even tea isn't recommended.

Having said that what do you think is best way to wean off of coffee and stimulants?

@Sibila Gubanc Coffee keeps my heartbeat from dropping below a certain rate, so I can't get into deeper states of meditation. I'd recommend improving your diet (if possible) and getting adequate rest instead of seeking stimulants.

4 hours ago, Steven said:

Having said that what do you think is best way to wean off of coffee and stimulants?

I moved from coffee to tea. Then I had one cup of regular tea for a while and then eventually I just started drinking caffeine free tea.

Hallå