ivankiss

I love staying up at night.

13 posts in this topic

Is it really that bad for me? Or is that a myth?

I absolutely love the intimacy, the peace and quite, the magic of 3 or 4AM. I just love how it feels.

And before anyone jumps at me, yes, I have also experienced 4AM from the other side - so to speak. Getting up at that time, instead of pushing through the night. I experimented with all kinds of sleeping schedules, and while I can adjust to pretty much anything, if I have the total freedom to choose, then I'd probably be up every night till 3,4 or even 5AM, and sleep until 10, 11 or so. Depending on how well rested I feel.

Currently, I do not live that way. I get up at 7-8AM and go to sleep around 11 - midnight. And that's kind of the reason why I'm posting this. I miss those long nights. A lot of magical things happen to me past midnight, when there is nobody around, when it's all silent.

I should mention that I'm a musician. An artist, a creative... and that's more or less THE reason why I prefer the night. Being creative during daytime is just not the same. It can be awesome and it does have it's own magic, but personally, it's nowhere near as epic as night.

I'm sure many creatives would agree with me.

But not only that... Doing any kind of a serious consciousness work, contemplation, meditation, breathwork... I also prefer that at night. Envisioning, planning, strategizing... also at night.

All of those things, and many more are just way more enjoyable at night, to me. It just feels more natural that way. More fulfilling. More potent. More effective. More awesome.

You might want to point towards some kind of a childhood trauma, and yes, I did find peace in late night hours even as a kid. It totally could be that that's why I feel safest at those hours. It's difficult to create if your environment is chaotic or even hostile.

Whether or not it's some kind of a trauma response, I simply like staying up late at night, and that's it.