Seed

Currently have a 9 year old - torn over whether to have a second baby?

29 posts in this topic

So, the title says it all.... I am in deep conflict about it.

I am 34, almost 35 years old. Whilst I dont have a deep yearning for another child - I am aware of the ticking clock and feel that if I dont have one now, then I wont have one ever. Mentally if I am one and done, I need to know that so I can focus on what we have, our future, and the benefits of being a family of three. I also have a garage full of baby stuff that I need sort out / sell! ?

A little about our family. We have a beautiful, funny, smart free spirited, kind, empathic but challenging 9 year old daughter. Challenging in terms of her being highly sensitive and emotional. She is multi layered, strong willed and passionate. Parenting her often feels like parenting 3 or 4 children!

We feel complete and we love her to bits. Myself and my partner also run two businesses and I am in my final year of a pyschotherapy degree so will soon be setting up private practise.

We don't have a ton of money but we could make the spaces and make cut backs in order to cater and provide for another. It would mean living more carefully, and not having the freedom we have been blessed with until now when it comes to travel and weekend trips / clubs / classes etc for our daughter. So, practically, it wouldnt be a breeze, the house is pretty compact but we could make it work...

However, I am also worried about the age gap of 10 years + how this will effect my daughter going into her teens with a very young child around. Will another one completely mess up the dynamic and rthymn of our family? Will we have to split up on weekends and holidays, one parent taking one kid and the other taking the other one....

I also had a very traumatic birth with my daughter, I nearly lost her. This holds me back, I feel so lucky and blessed with what we have. Why roll the dice again?