spinderella

Internal Family Systems vs. Byron Katie

13 posts in this topic

Hi all, I have seen both of these topics discussed here on the site, and I've been helped by both modalities. I am a therapist and coach myself, and am trying to find a way to reconcile some of the differences between the two so that I can use both of them in my work. 

In a nutshell, IFS says that there are "parts" of us that hold emotions, beliefs, and that direct our behaviour etc. To heal trauma, we have to integrate these parts by essentially making peace with the family system inside of us. 

Byron Katie's "The Work" teaches us that none of our thoughts are objectively true, and that we can question our beliefs and end our suffering 

Is anyone else familiar with both of these pieces of work? How are both of them true?  I'm happy to elaborate more on either, but I'm hoping that maybe somebody sees where my dissonance is coming from and can help me reconcile it? 

hm so imagine a client dealing with feelings of inadequacy or guilt and shame due to a critical inner voice or a past event etc. You could use IFS to help them identify the parts holding these emotions, exploring their origins, intentions, and emotions. Once you've connected with these parts, you can introduce the work to guide your client in questioning the thoughts and beliefs tied to the critical part or the emotions of guilt and shame. This way, they can understand the role of each part and reframe their beliefs

So basically, 

Help your client identify the part responsible for their critical inner voice using IFS. Then, use the work to question and reframe the thoughts and beliefs tied to that part. 

That's what I can think of at least 

Edited by ChatGPT

@spinderella I am familiar with both and I resonate more with Byron Katies's work. 

7 hours ago, spinderella said:

To heal trauma, we have to integrate these parts by essentially making peace with the family system inside of us.