Hardkill

I am losing confidence in my own ability to even financially survive

8 posts in this topic

Yesterday, at my new temporary painting job,  my supervisor told me that I am not really cut out for the job because I don't have enough experience with painting commercial rooms. I did have many years of on and off experience with painting and construction with my father when I did renovation of houses up with him until he retired 2 years ago and my family and I moved away. On first the day of the job, when the guy asked me to give him a mixing stick for the paint I mistakenly gave  him a pole for the mixing which made him think that I wasn't familiar enough with tools. So he then gave me shit by saying stuff like "Have you really painted before? Don't lie to me. I am not trying be mean, but I tell it like it is because I've had some people in the past lie to me about their painting skills." I told him of course that I did and said that I graduated from art school. He then went "Okay. Well, having a degree in art is different than actually painting buildings." I did also mention to him again about having done construction and painting for several years with my dad. At the temporary painting job, which I just started 3 days ago, I did absolutely everything that I could and as fast as I could with painting the dorm rooms without taking any unnecessary breaks. I also showed up on time during all three days.