Don Wei

Depression and hollowness in university

28 posts in this topic

Hello everybody, I got accepted in my dream university, Delft University of Technology and I moved from a third world country to a rich country, The Netherlands. But i've been feeling empty, and weird since i',ve been studying. In the beginning I didn't feel stressed though. Because back then there wasn't a huge load of work dropped on me. I have been doing self help for 7 years and I normally meditate twice a day. But I haven't meditated since I got here. I also had amazing plans to write books while studying in college. But i've only written 3 chapters and I also haven't done anything with that since I got here. 

I used to think I was a high conscious person. But i've also been questioning that lately, because if I was I wouldn't have this problem probably. I also haven't visited the gym in two weeks and because of certain circumstances I did not get any vacation. This year while I was still in high school I was also pretty stressed out and my future was very unclear and I thought that I was just in a stage of life where I would grow a lot internally because this year has been the most eye opening to me. I really grew a lot. 

But now i'm even more stressed, and depressed. I'm afraid that it won't matter how much I achieve because I think this feeling is something that will always follow me. It feels almost impossible to make all my assignments on time and at the same time improve myself and have a social life, which I don't because i'm in a new country. 

But somewhere deep down I have a feeling that life, could be a lot better and that i'm missing something. There must be something I overlooked. I honestly don't even know what I want right now.

Relax bro. A new beginning is almost always confusing for the mind. In this times it’s especially import to meditate/rest in being.