Agrande

What’s your gym routine?

8 posts in this topic

I do the classic 3 day split with some modifications (changing from barbell to dumbbells)

It’s been great and I’ve noticed lot of changes to my body 

what’s your routine?

I rotate between chest/back, legs, and arms, and have recently implemented HIIT on a stationary bike on "off" days.

The #1 thing, if I could go back in time 10 years to when I began lifting, that I would communicate to my younger self, is the importance of training volume. Essentially, the idea of muscle confusion and exposing your muscles to novel stimuli, is misleading, whereas what actually matters is how many sets, taken to or close to (within 1-2 reps of) failure. If you arrive at a point that you are no longer making the intended/desired progress, your total weekly training volume for a particular muscle group must simply increase.

For example, one set of bench press is enough to elicit a growth stimulus for a complete beginner, whereas someone who has been benching for 10 years, may need in excess of 10 sets to elicit a growth stimulus (of course there is nothing wrong with doing far less to simply maintain).

Ultimately, high volume training is the master key to hypertrophy.

I’ve been getting into yoga and stretching lately. I’ve retired from weight lifting long ago.

I love being flexible.

“I once tried to explain existential dread to my toaster, but it just popped up and said, "Same."“ -Gemini AI