benny

I'm struggling to find my purpose. Maybe sharing will help.

11 posts in this topic

From a big-picture standpoint, my life is going really well. I have an awesome girlfriend, great friends, A1 self-care, meditation, as well as a job I have a lot of fun doing.

Thing is, I don't know my purpose. I've taken Leo's LPC, and it has helped me gain lots of clarity.

At first I wanted to do something like Leo's actualized.org. Personal development helped me turn my life around, and a lot of that was because of Leo's content. I'm still putting together a little project where I speak in front of the camera and talk about a personal dev topic. We'll see where that leads.

I know that I'm a strong writer. Words have always come naturally to me. I'm also writing an essay on the same personal dev topic that I'm planning on shooting a video for, just to see which medium I prefer working in, and which one gets better reception from the people I send them out to.

My concern with the videos is that I'd essentially just be copying Leo. My concern with the writing is that people don't want to read lengthy blog posts. And how could I even get paid well to write a personal development blog anyway?

Then I thought about going back to school and getting my masters so I can become a therapist. I had a traumatic childhood - severe emotional abuse from my NPD father. The attractive aspect of this path is that I have a very well-defined niche that I could derive a lot of meaning from: helping men who grew up with emotionally abusive fathers work through their trauma. That resonates deeply.

I just don't know. I feel like I've a hit a bit of a snag and I'm feeling discouraged. It felt good to write this though, and to send it out to you guys.

You want to help people, that much seems for sure.