Logan

I Am A Self-Help Junkie (Literally)

21 posts in this topic

Every minute of free time that I have, I am working to improve myself. It is actually a bit obsessive. I think I may need to reel myself in a bit and allow myself to be as I am, rather than  to constantly focus on what I can be in the future. I see the massive potential I have and want to embody it so badly. I can't let go of my focus on working towards actualizing my goals, to the detriment of my present self. I feel like a high school athlete doing unhealthy things in order to fulfill their dreams of going pro.

I have been meditating for 8 years but have had trouble remaining present in the last couple of years and wonder how much good it's done me in that time. I used to avoid thinking too much and meditation was easier. Now I am being more strategic, thinking long-term, taking 100% responsibility, being completely self-honest, and working on my purpose. I struggle now to turn off my monkey mind. The switch between being and doing is lost in the dark. I feel there isn't enough time in a day to do all the things I want to in order to grow. I stay up until 3am most nights working on myself and my purpose.

I used to be firmly in stage green and  shunned stage blue & orange values. Once I had realized this, I began working to integrate stages blue and orange. I have been integrating orange in a toxic way. I was afraid of my intense yearning for money, power, status, and success. Now I see why. I have fallen into the trap of overwork and overt ambition. I need to focus my attention on a smaller field of subjects at a time, and realize that life isn't a sprint, but a marathon. To be able to be present and accept myself as I am.

Can anyone share their experience of traversing the traps of stage orange and share some insight? I'm a rat in the maze, chasing the cheese.

Edited by Logan

Yes I am mostly Stage Yellow.

32 minutes ago, Logan said: