meow_meow

Getting second bachelors degree

10 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I'm 28 years old at the moment and I've already graduated (bachelors) in law, worked a while in debt collection, tried working as a legal consultant & eventually tried opening my business offering legal advice in the finance field. My business failed and I've realized that after ~5 years in the field I don't see myself in it anymore.

I did invest a lot of time thinking and trying things that I would like to do and consciously create a career out of it, and since I've been creating (programming) flash games, lots of other silly stuff for fun, and seeing how IT industry is blowing up I decided to jump careers.

For the recent 1 year I've been working as a Junior Web Developer (junior programmer) and for the first time in my life I like what I'm doing. 

However, I have no education in this field, since I have a bachelors in law, so I'm thinking is it really worth the hassle to go for another ~4 years to graduate in IT?

No dude, watch Leo's video on going to college. You can make it in this field by teaching yourself. Build your resume around 2-3 really super polished projects of your own that show you know how to code websites. There is so much free and paid content out there online that teaches you this skill.

@Lyubov Believe me, I already know this, this is the only reason why I'm already working in the field, I already have my portfolio etc. Getting formal education just sorta 'feels' right.

@meow_meow yes you have to. Don't lose the opportunity. Awesome that you're ready for it. Go for it. 

INFJ-T,ptsd,BPD, autism, anger issues

Cleared out ignore list today. 

7 hours ago, meow_meow said:

@Lyubov Believe me, I already know this, this is the only reason why I'm already working in the field, I already have my portfolio etc. Getting formal education just sorta 'feels' right.