fish

Tips for pursuing consciousness WORK.

9 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I am a 17-year-old junior in high school. I started learning through Leo's teachings half a year ago. I feel like I have a pretty decent conceptual understanding of these teachings (god, non-dualism, oneness, holism, infinity, imaginary concepts vs. actuality, etc.) The only thing I feel like I lack is putting in the work (contemplation, meditation, introspection, etc.) to discover these truths for myself and become conscious of them. I was just wondering if there was anything you guys wish you implemented into your self-development earlier on in your journey. I don't really feel like I'm new to this stuff but I'd just like a little guidance/insightful tips.

@fish . you are a person of high intelligence to be so interested in this stuff and taking it on. This reminds me, I too read my first book on spirituality in my teens :).

The practice is the hardest part. Reading and thinking is easy but trying to translate that into actual work will be the grand test. If you can do that consistently, you'll see change and expansion in both your understanding and personality. If you can't be disciplined and consistent (however small the effort), the outlook won't be good. You'll stay put in this place, feeling more frustrated as you go on.  So, find a practice that you like and stick to it long enough (a few weeks at least, some would say a year) to see if it helps you before switching to something else.

Edited by Demeter

@fish

Do you have hobbies (wood working, drawing, singing, dancing, any sport, etc)? Focus on them. 

I started downhill MTB at 30 :D I wish I'd start at 17 ahaha

What a dream, what a joke, love it   :x