lightnessofbeing

Bipolar Disorder And The Spiritual Path

6 posts in this topic

Hi there ?

About 10 years ago i suffered a severe episode of depression after a series of loses that caused a protracted crisis and a lot of questioning into the nature of self and reality . Things started to feel pristine but empty of substance including myself . I experienced a shattering of the ego self and a tremendous amount of fear arose that i resisted until i didnt. It felt like dying and letting go into that great annihilating Void. Thats where Peace came and Joy came in . At that point I studied Adyashanti ,Ken Wilber , Stan Grof and othes.  Meanwile i was put on antidepressant meds for several months until something clicked into my mind and i became manic. I had effortless God consiousness ,realizing I and Everyone /Everything as That ,sleeping too little , having a tremendously hedonic energy flowing through my body , creativity etc. 

I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder and put on mood stabilizers from then on . I have a love/hate relatioship with meds like these. From time to time i quit taking them cause i reframe my experiences as stages of the spiritual path and not psychosis .