CameronsExploring

Now that I'm here, need college dating advice

6 posts in this topic

I recently graduated high school and now I'm a young male college freshman. The dating scene here is unfamiliar to me, and I feel so inexperienced. 

For more background, I have a more introverted personality, so I really don't meet many new people naturally and haven't had much dating experience yet. This may be the reason why I suffer from what they call oneitis every time I start to like a new girl. This is really a painful process as it never leads to anywhere good, such as unrequited love. I feel like I am dealing with unrequited love right now, which is never fun.

I've been trying out clubs and such, but generally I feel that it is such as slow and limited way to meet interesting girls. I don't see how they can provide rich dating options and the opportunity to become more confident in myself. They are small in numbers, meaning that if you can't find anyone you like in a club, then you're just out of luck for the year. Neither is it really a good idea just to sign up for clubs just for this reason. Outside of clubs, I really don't know how to meet girls and other people.

I know that other guys may just be interested in hook ups or short-term dates, but I've always been more interested in finding love. While I see that it is useful to gain diverse experience with what kinds of girls are out there, I ultimately would like to find someone out there to be more intimate with. I would like to find someone who appreciates my authentic self and interests, is empathetic, down to earth, intellectual and curious about life, and healthy. 

Given my situation, I'm wondering how to work on my dating life and dating skills while in college.

My general questions are:

How do I create a good dating life in college?

What might the traps be?

How do I find love?

How do I meet women with the qualities that I'm looking for?

How do I get over oneitis?