Afonso

What Differences Can I Expect From A 30-min To A 60-min Meditation Session?

10 posts in this topic

Hi I'm like you doing 30 minutes a day usually.

Personally, I think the barrier is physical. My body / back gets more tired for sitting more time.
Longer meditation session just feel like a different arbitrary number has passed on the clock.

I would suggest, just giving it a try. I mean, everybody will get different things. I say the only way to know is to try.

Also, what results are you expecting ? 

Edited by aclokay

Even 2x30 is worse than 1x60.

To illustrate, a Vipasana retreat is just 12h of meditation for 10 days straight - you could do it at home - but you get absolutely amazing results. 

There's no right or wrong time frames.

I've was doing 1 hour a day, then dropped to 1/2 hour per day. I've been meditating for 15 months now. I think I get just as much out of 30 mins as I do 60 mins. Although I didn't do 60 mins so perhaps I could be further down my path if I did... but I'm not going to go down that road of analysis! ha ha 

Here's some pointers I've picked up from reading different stuff, mostly Daniel Ingram's book, Mastering Core Teachings of Buddha: Free link here: http://static.squarespace.com/static/5037f52d84ae1e87f694cfda/t/5055915f84aedaeee9181119/1347785055665/

• A good present mindful 1 minute is better than an unpresent unmindful 10 days - so basically if you have 30mins you can really get powerful results - if you have longer then better 
  • It is also true that if you do longer meditation in one go than you can achieve quicker and deeper results - depending on what you are intending to get out of meditation