Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kamwalker

The dynamic of practicing spirituality while maintaining a time consuming job

8 posts in this topic

I am a newly practicing surgeon. I started exploring spirituality and consciousness more over the last few years after gaining interest through various experiences in the years prior to that. As I have gone deeper into it and exploring this different path it inevitably got me to start questioning whether this type of pursuit would mesh well with the medicine lifestyle and whether the time I spent to get to this point was worth it as the sheer amount of hours you must dedicate to it strips away much of the time you can allocate to other endeavors. It has caused a fair amount of confusion within me and I have had to continually question it all and if it is possible to truly let go and awaken while still having to deal with healthcare bureaucracy and the stress of cutting someone open. Wondering if anyone here can relate to this on some level or has any insight.

Welcome to the spiritual path. My advice is to stick with it. It may seem at times like your whole world has turned upside down and you may question why you got involved in the first place, but it can be a very rich and fulfilling journey. 

"You Create Magic" 

Agree with @Flowerfaeiry

The pandemic was a blessing in disguise for me, in terms of being able to work from home, and meditate incrementally from the comfort of my apartment without dealing with a commute or bothersome co-workers.

Now with the economy opening back up, wage slaves are expected to go back to…well, slaving. I’m also having to figure out how to juggle spirituality with a 9 to 5.

Some things are just to good to turn your back on, spirituality is one of them. Good luck

Two points: