Samsonov

Help with "Do Nothing" Meditation

14 posts in this topic

Hi, I've been meditating for almost three years and a few weeks ago I stumbled upon Leo's video called "Do Nothing Meditation", and later watched shinzen young video on the same or similiar technique. I have been practicing it for a week or so and I have some doubts on wether I am doing it properly.
I can feel myself letting go of control and surrendering to the present, but then, If get lost in thoughts/monkey mind as soon as I become aware of it, I come back to the present immediatly or the thought evaporates within seconds, Is it me manipulating/controlling or am I executing the technique as I should?

It seems to me not very different than my regular awareness of awareness meditation. When watching Leo's video i imagined it would feel like monkey mind while keeping awareness. but for me it seems like the two wont go together. Have any of you tried it? What was your experience like?
Thanks for the help :)

Hi :)@Samsonov

Whichever way you do it is okey because you benefit either way. Even if you're doing nothing lost in thinking that is still relatively okey and would still give you some benefit. Different people understand this "do nothing" practice differently according to their level maturity.

The highest and most powerful way of interprating "do nothing" is by dropping the intention even to meditate. Basicly when you're meditating there's an intention inside your mind and an effort to reach a certain state or goal. An earnest seeker can even become aware of that very subtle effort to become effortless. When you become aware of it you trancend all effort altogether. There you find an absolutlely effort-free space of awareness, untouched by anything, your True Self.