Seed

Strange Behaviour From Therapist

51 posts in this topic

Hello all!  :)

I have recently statrted seeing a new therapist. He is a male Jungian analyst. This is my first time with a Jungian and also with a male. Although I wouldnt have expected the gender  makes much of a difference, but, who knows!?

We have had 5 sessions so far and by the 4th session I became very frustrated and upset because he spends long periods of the session in silence. If I talk, he often holds his hand up to pause me. Which I feel ruins our flow. When he pauses his eyes go up to his head and he holds his face. These pauses go on for a good few minutes. And I just sit there until he comes back to me. I often ask him questions and he doesnt answer straight away, he does that instead. 

I thought this may be because I am new and he just needed a few sessions to get used to me. But as I said, by the 4th session, when I came out. I realised how upset and frustrated I was! I felt like I wasnt listened to or acknowledged. 

I then brought it up with him the very next session which was on Friday and he said (after a 3 minute pause) that the reason he does this is because he is 'checking in' with himself, to see what is arising. What thoughts and feelings are present. A bit like when we meditate. He says he does this to make sure he is remaining impartial. Whlst this does make sense, it seems like it takes a lot of time for him to do this, I would of thought, as a skilled therapist (over 30 years experience) he could do both. Remain present with me, looking at me, be emotionally available at the same time as remaining impartial. But maybe I am expecting too much?