Thewritersunion

English Degree

9 posts in this topic

I current am wanting to get my way into the publishing industry and need to develop my skills as a writer.

Should I pursue an English Degree, and if so then what will I learn of it?

Note: my grandma is paying for all my college, no joke

You have been gifted the Golden Kappa~! 

I have an English degree, but I'm Hungarian, so that's somewhat different.

If English is already your native tongue, there is no point in pursuing a degree in it, with the notable exception of wanting to teach. 

It's probably best to get a degree in another language, such as French or German. You'll always be sought after career-wise if you are really good at languages in general, no matter what you ultimately choose to do with your life. In fact, I'd advise you to save your grandma's money, US colleges are a rip-off anyway and get a degree abroad, for instance in Germany, where higher education is actually free. 

The college environment is nice in some aspects. I did enjoy it myself for the feeling and experience of it. I have to admit though if I really dedicated myself to self teaching I get way better results. I would try to find out how you learn best and maximize that path for the best results. 

Also, there is no better way to get started, than to start publishing whatever it is you're trying to do. By getting in and getting the experience first hand you are going to see some big improvements there alone from just that. If you decided to go to college for it or not I would highly recommend that. I did actually enjoy English in college, there was quite a bit of good stuff to learn from it. 

I feel like to become a good writer you should find the work of the best in the field you want to go in and study all of it too. Find out as much as you can about those writers and get a good sense of what they did to create their work. Make sure your work reflects you, but using this will help you learn a lot.