BIggleswerth

Increasing focus

7 posts in this topic

When I'm studying something difficult like statistics, I tend to get burnt out /stressed instead of pushing through. Then I reach for something easy like a tv show.

I have noticed that my focus is better generally when I'm meditating regularly, but meditating regularly is also difficult. 

I know there is probably no easy solution, but is there a more specific meditation or technique I can try to improve focus?

Yoga is very powerful.

Cold showers also.

For increasing your focus, try to do one work at a time, slowly but surely, try to slow down your whole body movements, don't rush (because having the thought of " I should finish this lesson ASAP " will make you faster, when you are faster, you don't have the ability to concentrate, try to slow down the whole process and then focus on what you need to focus! ( your problem arises, when you want to finish everything as fast as you can!! ) 

Do you know why you meditate? 

Meditation is the practice of slowing yourself down to the extend that you improve your awareness and concentration

"If you kick me when I'm down, you better pray I don't get up"

Intermittent fasting combined with longer fasts in monthly basis had a tramendous impact on my ability to focus. Lowering carbohydrate intake and saving them for later in the day might also decrease fogginess.

Some othing this you could try are:

- cold showers 

- supplenting cdp-choline or alpha-gpc 

- waking up at the same time everyday 

- working out every day 

Kudos to you for studying hard stuff like statistics!  I have seen a broad range of personalities--introverts, extroverts, open-minded, devoted, straightforward, agreeable, and empathetic people demonstrate strong focus.