Moreira

How to recover from a traumatic event?

7 posts in this topic

I dont think we have to be a vietnam veteran to develop PTSD. In our daily lives we can encounter an event that can cause us severe psychologycal trauma.

For example:

-A engineer with high responsability that works in a electric central, a factory, and some expensivemachine explodes. Its not the physical damage but the psycologycal stress that can make a trauma.

-Victim of slavery. Today in some places of the planet still exist human traffic, or child forced to work in factories more than 12 hours.

-Abusive boss, parents.

The first example is my case. I work in a factory with high responsability machines, they demand me more than I'm able to give.

In 2 or 3 cases I had an accident with these machines.

No I go to work scared.

I have negative self fulfilling propecies that the thing is gonna be wrong.

While Im programing and verifying the machines I feel intestinal issues, like when you are se scared that have diarrhea.

Also I use to have obsessive thinking abot the job and how I'm gonna solve my problems when I'm in  the bed.

Need solid advice please. This is costing my health because I'm stressed every day.

@Moreira I'm so sorry to hear that you feel this way. I can relate. I developed a PTSD on a vacation to India, yes a vacation! PTSD is a serious health issue, please search help from a therapist / psychologist.

The sooner you get therapy, the better. EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing) is one of the best ways we currently can deal with this kind of trauma. 

Hope you heal soon from your trauma!