Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Extreme Z7

Why Do My Job Applications Keep Getting Rejected?

8 posts in this topic

I don't post very often, let alone start topics asking for help. So when I do make one, you know I'm feeling very down about something.

So just a quick background, I'm a 21-year old guy from the Philippines. I've been unemployed for a year. I've never had a job in my life. And I have received 5 different rejections after interview processes and some of my initial applications have just been outright ignored by multiple other companies.

Too vague? alright. . . a little more specifics.

I am a fresh grad with a Bachelor's Degree in Computer Science. I am looking for either a Game Development position or just a regular Software Developer position would be nice. My main passions are Developing Games and Composing Electronic Music. And even without work, I work on personal projects by myself as a solo creator.

I would consider Music to be my main life purpose. But right now, I'm don't feel that I'm that skilled at it yet. So I'm hoping to get a job as a Programmer in the short term because I feel it would be easier since I already have a degree in Computer Science and I have had a lot of practice with programming.

I do have ideas in my mind why I've had these rejections in the past and what I need to improve.

• My resume originally sucked, it doesn't suck as bad now but I'm still working to improve how it's presented.
  • I keep applying at companies I don't feel very passionate about but I can't help it because I feel very desperate to get employed.
  • I find it hard to tell what exactly the company really wants so I keep fucking up the HR interviews despite passing the technical exams.