Scarecrow

Fear My Life Purpose Won’t Be Around Anymore

6 posts in this topic

I’m a writer. I have written many short stories and writing a novel. And I have a deep fear that books are not going to be around anymore and writing novels will be a dead art very soon. Kinda feel like it’s a exuse to not to keep going. Every time I think about it it stops me in my tracks. Was wondering if anyone had any insights on this 

@Scarecrow What are you smoking? People are buying books and novels in record numbers.

If you wanted to, you could become a billionaire writing books. The cross-over potential for fiction books is the highest its ever been: ebooks, TV shows, movies, console games, mobile games, apps, Legos, comics, internet, podcasts, merchandising, etc, etc.

The only problem is, can you actually write a great book?

No, because you haven't invested the time and energy to master that craft. But you could, if you really cared to. And why don't you really care to? Because you haven't made it your life purpose.

Look at what Stephen King has done. There's no reason why you couldn't do the same. The only question is, do you have that as your vision?

You are God. You are Truth. You are Love. You are Infinity.

Hahahahaha xD

Okay sorry, let's be serious: You can write stories which convey your visions of how the world could be a better place; or dangers of how it might become a worse place. Or any story about any protagonist that solves any specific problem. As long as the protagonists find themselves in situations which people can relate to and find solutions to problems which can be applied by people, then people will read your stuff (given that it's good). People don't know how to live and they are hungry for stories to show them the way. Make your writing relevant to them and I'm sure you can find ways to monetize it.

It's not on the world to decide that your craft is not needed. It's on you to offer something which is so useful that it will be used.