Stratos

Blessed with a Curse

8 posts in this topic

Good evening all,

My name is Stratos, and I am a student that soon finishes his academic career. I am writing this message because i require assistance upon the matter of addiction. I am aware that ther are many topics concerning the subject but I would like to make some more remarks.

For my good luck (or not) i happen to be a very attractive male. At the same time, i have been blessed with the ability to articulate speech on very high levels and engage conversation of philosophical nature quite naturally. I am also quite organized which can be observed by my ability to finish my Master's at 22. I speak 3 languages and i have been doing martial arts for a decade now. I’m clean, i know how to cook well and people often come to me for advice. Even older people...

However, i am an addict. Technically i am not yet because i am quite young. However, i understand that my personality is prone to addiction and in 10 years from now i will definitely be. I consume large quantities of alcohol in one sitting (750 ml of spirit) without getting hangover. I smoke enormous amounts of cannabis and also indulge myself in other substances.

I have tried to stop numerous of times but fail repeatedly. I don’t know how to discipline myself when it comes to substances which is weird if you take into account my martial arts training. I also sometimes find myself giving excuses to me so i can drink/smoke. "Since i am so good in all other areas it is ok to drink/smoke." I have been going back and fourth with this issue for years..

I don’t know what to do. I feel that i am doomed to suffer from addiction for the rest of my life. I have considered going to a Buddhist temple for a few years to get away from everything but i feel that fleeing society is not the right choice yet. I am still building my future and i know i have many things to provide society before i flee...

Could you guys give me some advice on how to combat this issue?