Sleeper

Purposely practicing not thinking

7 posts in this topic

Hey all, new and newbie here.

Here’s a question about not thinking: Does anyone practice it? not thinking? I dont mean getting to that state through meditation, rather the action of blanking your mind for as long as you can and then starting over once you've failed. 

Is it a real practice? does it have a name? Is it a waste of time? haha. 

Anyways, thanks for reading and hopefully replying.

Hello @Sleeper and welcome to the forum. For me, it is less about fighting thoughts, and more about recognizing thoughts for what they are. The power is in being vigilant, just enough, not to identify with your thoughts. You are the Watcher. Don't become so engrossed in the movie that you forget who you are. I promise you, the thoughts are only a distraction, and will inevitably disappoint.

Just because God loves you doesn't mean it is going to shape the cosmos to suit you. God loves you so much that it will shape you to suit the cosmos.

I’ve tried this for a long time, when I was younger. While you can get the mind to be “quiet”, generally you are only fooling yourself if you think that you’re not thinking. Thoughts tend to come in this state only when you want them to, which means you don’t have as much trouble with getting distracted. The mind is sneaky and it goes underground, you find yourself thinking without consciously thinking, if that makes sense. 
It can actually get you into some odd states of mind and some of the mechanisms which govern our spirit become visible. We are not really one self but multiple selves, you will eventually realise. 

I am not sure if it is ultimately useful. For enlightenment and inner freedom I have found it more useful to study and practice  spirituality. 

“Nowhere is it writ that anthropoid apes should understand reality.” - Terence McKenna

@Bodhitree It makes a lot of sense to me...