Clayton

I Am A Beginner To Meditation And I Am Looking For Some Help

9 posts in this topic

Hi everyone! For the past year, this goal has been sitting in the back of my mind, and yesterday I said you know what, I am going to make a commitment to meditating every day. After taking notes on Leo's "Meditation for Beginners," I have a few questions for anyone in the forum:

1. Do you think that I should start with the do-nothing technique or just keep it simple and be aware for 20 minutes?

2. Do you think that it is a bad idea to meditate in a noisy environment?

3. If someone were to interrupt me during my session, do you think that I should start over or just continue from where I left off?

4. Is there anything else that I should know about meditating? Anything that you wish you knew when you started?

Edited by Clayton

Hi,
good you want to start it the first place!
1) This entirely depends on you, I personally do the "do nothing method, simplest meditation possible" and I think it is good to start with.
2) Depends probably on you again, I would not choose environment where people would talk to me but park in town could be quite ok with some cyclists around or so.
3) I wondered this one too. Try to keep the conservation radically short (Friend even made me a card: "do not disturb") then, well if you feel as though the session was "killed" by this conservation and that you want to do it whole in one run, do so.. but when you will meditate for 60 minutes at some point and 1 minute before end someone would interrupt you, it would not really change much I think to continue with one minute, not 60. The important thing is the long run, so you do not want to be disturbed often.