Bill W

[Book] The Buddha Said by OSHO (10\10)

14 posts in this topic

I'm going to highlight my favourite parts of this book, what these favourite parts mean to me, and how I try to assimilate them into my recovery and spiritual growth. Just to give you some context with the way I have done this.... I'm new to spirituality teachings and terminology. Half of the posts on this forum I can't pretend to fully understand. I hit rock bottom 7 months ago, multiple mental health difficulties, multiple addictions. I'm now 7 months clean in terms of alcohol and sleeping pills. I'm deeply involved with Alcoholics Anonymous and the 12-step approach but consider myself open to virtually anything on my journey. I'm full of contradictions probably, and this will likely be very obvious if I bite the bullet and start a journal on this forum.

I got this book early in my recovery (so about 6 months ago). I'd never heard of Osho and was beginning to get really curious about Buddhism, so the book appealed......I loved OSHO's style. Not on the fence. Tells you straight. 

I can't even begin to do this book justice here.... Game-changer for me.

Chapter 1

Osho writes that Buddha, unlike Jesus was a rationalist and that even Einstein would not be able to find a flaw in Buddha's reasoning. This appeals to me because I am trying to be more pragmatic with my recovery and development. I get obsessed easily and am regularly a complete slave to my emotions.