Soumya

The Fear Of Failure And Rejection

11 posts in this topic

Hey all!

I don’t know how to sum up how am I feeling right now. I have never opened up this way, but I decide to write today with all my courage.  It’s tough, painful and unbearable. I had a difficult childhood, all my life I had been into books, targets, results, awards and accolades. As a student, I hardly talked to anyone in college. I don’t have a friend circle. I face social anxiety, I am unable to talk to people with confidence, I can hardly face anyone around me, and I fear they won’t understand me. I don’t maintain an eye contact with them. I hardly go out these days. I used to be a competitive and brilliant student in school and college, but I believe I have lost that spark in me .Now I am slow at things and get confused easily, I fear competition. My energy drains out very often thinking about how I read and meet my daily targets. I procrastinate and that adds up to my burden.   I have to face this feeling of guilt, I mock myself often. My mind is very volatile; I am highly inconsistent these days. I discontinued my research last year to pursue something new in life. My research wasn’t going that well, and I was not content with the work I was doing, so I quit. I thought all will be fine thereafter.  I am to appear for an exam in a couple of months, but I am so inconsistent with studies. This exam means a lot to me, I try everyday to meet my targets but I fail drastically. All I want to do is clear this exam in one attempt. I watch many inspirational videos often and set a new routine every day, there are times when I feel so powerful and the very next day I feel so helpless. I have watched all of Leo’s videos on meditation, finding out life purpose, procrastination, setting targets, and backsliding and many more. It has been more than a year since I have followed the videos. But I lack consistency in thoughts and action.  After all these,   I am still unable to understand is it some menta