Sukhpaal

Struggles with Backsliding for Years

5 posts in this topic

Hello all. I have been on and off with practicing personal development for years. I used to be able to meditate for 20 minutes a day, now I can barely stand 3 minutes. I have been practicing non-duality since 2016 but I have wasted around 4-5 years back sliding and going through life unconsciously. I try to build habits slowly, but still eventually fail and fall back into old habits. 

I find it odd because I've had a few enlightenment experiences, including one on LSD but I can't even get close to how conscious I used to be. I'm tired of knowing what I want to pursue in life (consciousness work) but am unable to maintain habits after a few months of practice. I've watched Leo's homeostasis video, and have a strong theoretical background as I've read many non-duality books and watched videos--but in practice, I can do only 0.1% of it. 

Any tips?

Thank you all. 

if you wanna build a habit dedicate a place for that habit

watch out for your environments, friends, eating habits, your exercise, what information you are feeding your brain, if your environment has decent fresh air "there should be some lush tree near you", the water you dink also should be ultra clean
any of that can effect your level of consciousness and can drag you down

also you have to have a degree if discipline

also learn about ego backlashes and how you can handle them xD i do tons of back sliding

Hey brother, 

I think we might be in the simillar shoes as Im highly teoretical person and many things in life I managed to achieve in life that I would consider "higher level of mediocrity" with bare intelect. But along the way I figure out my purpose, what I want from my life and what is blocking me from that. So my advice here would be as I tell my self all the time:

• Eliminate hard addictions as this is cruicial and the most important task
  • Build vision, mission, life purpose and set big goals to realize them