Thought Art

Sometimes I Still Feel Deeply Sad I’m Not a Musician

7 posts in this topic

I always had a dream of being a musician. However, here I am at 27 and it seems that the realities of life are pulling me away from it. Or… they have. I feel as I am aging… though, I do enjoy the fruits of experience and the potential of being more wise and living life more wisely… 

I feel a deep sadness about not being a musician like Arcadefire, Bon Iver or whoever. I do enjoy the songs I’ve written and am grateful for my memories performing at festivals etc. I sense I’m not going to make the art that was in my heart. 

I don’t want to get too down in the dumps about it. I know life has a lot to offer outside of music. But, I had a dream. Sometimes I wonder if life is worth living if I can’t do this. My tinnitus I think really fucked me. Made me lose trust in God, music as a job. 

By the time I started pursuing music I was in my 20’s. Unfortunately I also had so much trauma and immaturity it often got in the way. I failed I think because of trauma and immaturity. So, becoming wise and mature seems to be the main focus. But, if im wise and mature but not being this artist I imagined.. I just find that hard to accept. I sometimes want to die simply because my direct experience is so far removed from this… fantasy.

I question gods love, I question gods creation in these moments. Why give me such a deep love for music but make the actualizing of that love impossible? It seems like an odd thing for a perfect God to do. 

I admit, I wish I was 17 or 20. The fate of being a human is that we get old, we move through phases and are not guaranteed success. 

I am enjoying working on my Qigong but it’s likely to take years before it can pay all my bills 

It seems I may easily end up being a wage slave my whole life. This seems like a strange hell to me. I don’t wanna love a strange hellish existence of mediocrity or worse. I want to be wealthy, artistic, creative, healthy, etc.