Nemra

Any pianists Here? I have questions.

7 posts in this topic

Can describe your journey of learning piano?

How did you learn it?

Is there one right way or is it more complicated?

What methods of learning have you discovered on the way?

I haven't gone to any school to learn piano, but I have had vocal lessons and I know little bit of music theory. And when I stopped going to the lessons, I started learning playing piano by just mimicking some pianist hands on YouTube (where and when to put my fingers). Right now, my hands are flexible enough to play it. I intuitively understand how rythm works (When I learn to play some music, I discover the rythm very fast). Recently, I have found courses, books and apps to learn about music theory.

What am I missing? What do I have to do to be professional at it. It's a hobby, but I want to have more deep understanding of it.

Thanks in Advance.

If you want to get to professional level of expertise you should seek out lessons with a teacher in person. There is no limit to how much you can learn it's only a question of how far you want to take it.

Theory is very useful dont be afraid of it and your ear is more important than the specific motions of your instrument. Your hands only purpose should be to execute what's in your ear. 

Sailing on the ceiling 

Practice all 3 daily.

1. Study Theory and practice that theory.
  2. Practice performance: Executing a piece accurately and well. Focus on the quality of the sound.
  3. Practice composition and improvisation. That includes to make a song learned your own, explore it.
  4. Practice listing to music a playing it by ear. 

Try to do all 3 daily and you will rapidly improve and build a interconnected brain that feels comfortable at the piano. All 3 steps are vital. If you miss step 3 for example you'll be unable to use anything you've learned and will only be good are repeating the songs memorized. 

Edited by integral