eTorro

I Think I Have Impostor Syndrome

6 posts in this topic

Sometimes I'm feeling self-conscious, especially when I'm talking to people — I have the impression that what I'm saying is wrong or weird.

Or when my girlfriend calls me, I'm at a loss for words due to the awful feeling of self-consciousness; I just don't know what to say or how to get out of that tense situation.

Although I'm confident enough because I've been meditating for the past four years, I have egoic leftovers that are pretty strong when they get triggered or activated. I've done my homework in terms of consciousness work. I'm aware of anything that happens inside my own mind or aware of the feelings that I'm experiencing at a particular moment.

In the past, I've had severe social anxiety, but right now I'm pretty much okay — the only thing that I need to overcome is my self-consciousness and my slightly awkward moments when I talk to people.

To offer some context, I grew up in a dysfunctional family — my father was absent, violent and an alcoholic and my mother was depressed and emotionally distant. I grew up in poverty.

I really wanna fix my impostor syndrome issue.

Do you have any tips for that?

Edited by eTorro
To delete a word.

Working in customer service has helped, but very slowly. I'm still in the process of unravelling it. I still feel like people are secretly angry or annoyed by me when I talk with them or do some tiny thing wrong.