Grant6

How To Stop Being So Egotistical

7 posts in this topic

I'm too much in my head all. of. the. time. I am depressed, and I worry often about how I come across to other people, not physically, but socially. I can hold a conversation okay, but I'm not really good at those conversations where you feel like you connect with the other person. And small talk is not something I'm great at either. So I worry about these things. Also, sometimes I feel like I'm disconnected from reality. I feel like I can't tell what's real or not sometimes... And I have self-attacking thoughts often where I will say to myself, "you don't deserve this," if I have something good happen to me or, "you're not good for anything," and etc. So how can I begin to stop being so self-centered, get to the root of this depression and eliminate it, and how can I be more kind to myself even when I feel like I deserve all of those self-attacking comments? 

febuebfuebfg.png

I thought this was pretty cool :)

Edited by pluto

B R E A T H E

@Grant6 Question everything you've gathered you're entire life. All neurosis stems from delusion of existence. The more you get closer to what's actually true, the more free and happier you become.

@Grant6 You've just listed all the problems and all the questions you know you need to address

Breathe

Let yourself listen to them, rater than be overwhelmed by them.

I would also consdier addressing them through writing.  Just write the question, and keep writing whatever response your mind come up with. Then keep going.

It is great to see you are aware of your shortcomings. That already males it much easier to offer advice. I would say that you should accept these thoughts and integrate them. Because only when you have accepted something can you actually change it successfully.