Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Axiomatic

Finishing my bachelors, yet I am at a crossroads

5 posts in this topic

Hey guys, so I am currently in my junior year of college and going on to my second semester in January. I am currently majoring in business administration/business management. I like the major, because it seems to have a lot of avenues for career paths. 

But lately I have been doing some soul searching, and I realize that although I am making steps towards growth and a purpose/career, I am still unsure of what that actual vision entails. I don't have a real idea of what I would want to do as far as a true solid career choice. I just know I want to finish my degree. I feel like I am just trying to get through school and hope that I can find an avenue to go down when the next step comes. And that makes me nervous.

I am trying to brainstorm different ways that I could apply myself so that I could use my degree to enhance my career path. So I am trying to think of anything from internships/on the job training, to seeing if any of my personal interest could be utilized. For example: I have always been pretty talented at writing. I don't really know how that could apply here, but it is an idea.

I was in the military and worked cyber security for a few years, though I didn't feel a real calling to it. But my brother is in computer information systems and landed a pretty well paying gig in his area. He thought maybe it would be a good idea to go that route and have a more specific route for my degree. So I have considered switching it up.

I like the idea of marketing as well. My uncle is in marketing and seems to do well for himself. I have always found the principles of marketing somewhat interesting.