paprika

Fuelled by external motivation?

10 posts in this topic

Hi there,

Recently I had to realise that I cannot yet start acting on truly actualising myself because I am externally motivated rather than internally.

In my current job, I was promoted a couple of months ago, and I took the fresh role and considered it my passion, did my best and excelled at almost everything I could, surpassing the wildest dreams of my employer.  I was able to do that because I have a lot of previous experience in that role, but I haven't been given the chance to use that before. I wanted to show my skills and start walking on the path of living my life purpose.

Instead of enjoying growth in trust and freedom, I was told to set back without any specific reason. I only got vague references that I couldn't even understand. This made me think that I must have been probably putting my investments to the wrong place. Maybe I should start my own enterprise. However, I don't feel myself be that motivated to work out my own stuff than working on others. For example, in the past months, it wasn't a problem for me to sleep 6 hours (or less) and wake up early in the morning. But when I decided to focus on my own projects, I often get sleepy after a similar amount of rest. I'm starting to feel that the internal motivation isn't that strong as the external one I had at day job.

Why is this happening to me? What should I be working on in order to treat my own projects with the same (or even higher) importance than that of others?

Edited by paprika

It will really help if you are interested in the stuff you are working on. That will play a big first role in it. Starting out something is not really that easy though and it takes a lot of time and concentration. You are going to have to pinpoint what you really want and figure out how to go about doing it with a clear strategy.