Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
electroBeam

Am I Heading In The Right Direction?

5 posts in this topic

So I want to get involved in personal development, because I'm very aware of the fact that one day I will die, and if I don't do something now, I'm going to regret it. The only problem is, I'm not entirely sure what I want to do, or what I should do. I know I want to impact the world somehow, or get involved in a startup, but not exactly sure which startup or why. 

Recently I have taken on a lot of projects, volunteering projects at university, being apart of toastmasters, hanging out with friends moreso(improving my introvertedness). I have been doing these projects for 6 months now, and while these tasks I have taken on for myself are positive, and what a 'good person' does, I'm not feeling any better about doing them. I feel kind of out of place, and weirdly like doing these projects are a waste of time. I'm not getting any meaning out of doing these projects. Its hard to describe, the feeling you get when your doing something that is pointless.

Does everyone feel like this after doing activities you should be doing after 6 months, or is my dissatisfaction telling me something? If it is, what should i do instead to improve my life? I don't want to just sit back and piss my life away, I want to do something that will develop my experience, and grow myself.

Glad to see you want in. Here's a very simple model of what you should be doing right now.

1. Find your life purpose.

You have vague feelings and intent. You must distill a purpose out of that haze. Achieving incredible results requires a concentration of force into a particular area(I assume you want kickass results). Find that area. Furthermore, the feeling of fulfillment is most clear when achieving/ working toward a goal and fulfillment is the antithesis to the regret you wish to avoid so much. As Leo put it "If you don't have a life purpose, then your purpose is to find a life purpose."