Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Shmurda

How can I apply Spiral Dynamics in my teaching?

4 posts in this topic

Hey,

I'm a Maths teacher for secondary students in an International school in a developing nation. This country is not one in which I risk being jailed for religious heresy. The students are intelligent fluent English speakers with wealthy families. I'm basically free to teach however I please, so long as I cover specific mathematical content over the course of the school year. 

After listening to Leo's video on applications of Spiral Dynamics, I'm interested in attempting to implement some techniques in the classroom which reflect Spiral Dynamics stage yellow and systems thinking in general. This has to happen at the classroom level only, as I cannot alter the educational structure of the whole school. 

So, have you had any ideas about revolutionising the classroom environment? Lets give them a go!

Divest from the conceptual. Experience the actual.

One idea is something I learned from a book called "seven habits of highly effective people".  In this book there is a section about synergy in habit 6 about a classroom.  The principle that the author operates under is that the whole is greater than the sum of the parts.  It is common for students to run off of the script that they just have to do whatever the teacher makes them do.  A second common script is that math is going to forgotten because they cannot apply it anyway.  "Synergy is almost as if a group collectively agrees to subordinate old scripts and write a new one."