Lise

Do you want to help a 19-year-old?

7 posts in this topic

Hello world!

Currently I'm studying computer science (freshman), and I find it extremely unfulfilling and boring. I want to quit. Now. Should I, or should I power on until september? 

Background info:

- I've been thinking about this for a few weeks already. Heart says: "PURSUE YOUR PASSIONS" but mind says "finish this year because of money".

- If I finish this year, I will be done in september because I failed one of my exams (and will probably fail more this year).

- I had much better work ethics in high school, and graduated with good enough grades to get into all "programmes" in Norway (where I live). Fun fact: so good grades that if you don't pick certain subjects in norwegian high school, it would be "impossible" for you to get.

- If I finish I'll have 60 000 NOK / 7000 USD / 6200 euros in debt.

- If I don't finish I'll be having 110 000 NOK / 11400 euros / 13 000 USD in debt.

- I will probably work my ass of if I decide to actually pass everything, because of quality. That means no time to experiment with life. Which I will if I quit. I've never been more productive, or inspired this semester, than when I'm in one of my LPC-crams.

Do you have any advice? ANY at all will be much appreciated. 

Edited by Lise

Did you finish the LPC? I used to be a programmer now I am a Massage Therapist I wasted money and time pursuing technology even when I don't liked it. The only good thing is that I know a lot about computers and technology but If I could go back I would not get in debt for going to college. I would go to a community College and study there. Community colleges here in the states are cheap and they are very good to Kickstart your career and to study the basics. Finish the LPC! Find your purpuse don't waste time. Good luck! 

It's difficult to say whether or not to quit or whether this advice will work from someone who isn't actually in your situation, nor do i know your passion.