Massimiliano Giudice

Wim Hof Method - Infos, buying, sharing

15 posts in this topic

Hi guys, 

Happy to write my first post on this forum.

Do you ever heard about Wim Hof?

This is a guy who can stay hours in the ice cold water, just in shorts. He has developped techniques and an online course about what he believe could be a method to combat health disease, depression, injuries, create a better life style and, as he said create a meditation method as itself. 

Now I've tried this breathing techiques for a while and then dropped, but since I was doing it I've definetely seen the benefits and wated to go a bit deeeper with it.

Do you ever tried?

Hey welcome! Here's an earlier thread about it with some shared experience 

Yes I have been doing the Wim Hof Method for 2 years now. The reason I began it was because of the YouTube video that sold me on the idea, "If you do this method, you will NEVER be sick for the REST OF YOUR LIFE." Indeed, I have never been sick with a cold/virus/flu/allergy since doing the cold showers.

Let's make it brutally simple, even more simple than what Wim Hof adocates, and I like him as a teacher because he is very easy about his approach, he is non-dogmatic, he is non-pressure, and he says to BUILD UP SLOW AND GENTLE. This is the secret to mastering anything in this lifetime; to be the totrotise with consistency and gentleness, over time. Be a farmer not a sprinter.

So there are really only 2 aspects to the Wim Hof Method:

Cold Showers.

Deep breathing, as in the above video. 20-40 breaths, and then a breath retention. It is a form of Pranayama Wim Hof's personal way.

That's it.

He discusses another pillar in his course which is mental commitment. A lot of the course is about psychology as well as physiology which many people do not appreciate or it just goes over their heads. If one wants to progress to superhuman levels like Wim can (which we can), then mental determination and commitment is not optional- it is NECESSARY.