Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Electron

Is Becoming A Scientist In Conflict With Getting Enlightened??

8 posts in this topic

I am an aspiring physicist, currently a physics undergrad. I watched Leo's recent video about rationality and I have a massive doubt. I am getting more concerned daily about whether my life purpose is in conflict with me attaining enlightenment. I've never seen or heard about an enlightened physicist. Maybe there is a reason behind that. 

Also, there is a thing Leo did not cover in his video and that is that in professions like science we work with thoughts and take them super seriously. And its not possible to simultaneously be aware of them, because by being aware and seeing them as mere stories we snatch the importance assigned to them, which is crucial to work diligently with them. Why would you think day and night about something if you are aware that the map is not the territory? Why would you want to stay in the matrix and enjoy it fully if you know that there are greater things outside of it? How do you give the same importance to thoughts after you see the beauty that exists beyond the limits of thoughts? And if you cease to value thoughts, how do you become an elite scientist who in a sense is a puppeteer of thoughts. Most scientists confuse map for territory but I think they need to, to associate importance to their work. Leo, said himself that after you become aware you don't really care about thoughts. So if you are in a profession that requires you to care, is it also required as a consequence to not be aware?

Edited by Electron