Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
brugluiz

Is it possible your passion fade away?

7 posts in this topic

When I was a kid, I really, really enjoyed drawing. I really would get immersed in drawing Dragon Ball characters and many other stuff (Pokémon, Lion King, Smilingüidos, etc). My imagination would go far away. I would draw many versions of the same character. It was really fun. I would create Tamogotchi characters in my computer. I would even animate it.

I even started a college course of Graphic Design and I enjoyed most of the semesters I studied. I dropped the course because I wasn't feeling alive anymore. It's important to notice that studying Graphic Design doesn't mean you study drawing.

Nowadays, I take antipsychotic and it seems to be a bit tough to connect with my imagination. I always thought that I wouldn't get psychotic if I was connected with my passion, then I assumed that drawing isn't my passion. Sometimes when I draw, I feel I have the gift. I feel that, if I invested on it, I would be a great artist. But I'm too much of a perfectionist. I can't accept I can't draw beautiful stuff. Of course I need to practice drawing in order to get better, but I have fear. I fear that maybe it isn't the right path. I fear that maybe I'm wasting my time when trying to get better at drawing.

And the most important: I feel pleasure when I draw, but that pleasure fades away when I get too perfectionist. I think: "this drawing is a crap! I should give up. It will take too much work to get good. And even if I put too much work, I think it will still be a crap" I can notice the cortisol increasing when I'm drawing. I can notice when I'm getting upset due to my perfectionism.