Durka_Durka

Help With Journalling

5 posts in this topic

I'm here to ask how to journal. I have no idea how to properly do it. I've been told "just write" but it seems aimless and strange. But I really need the benefits that it supposedly helps to give, the main one being emotional stability as you are able to cathartically express everything and get it out. 

I had a break-up about 6 months ago from a girlfriend who I absolutely adored and she left me because she became seriously depressed with her life in general. I am still struggling with it, even though I am much better than I was, I was doing really well until she got back in contact with me a few days ago and everything is just shit again. I don't even know what I want anymore, in general.

I just want to get everything out, how do you do journalling?

i've been doing journalism for a few months now, and so far it's ben very helpful in making me more aware of my own problems. Not sure what advice would be helpful in your case. Way i see it, here's a journal. you can write about anything you want in it. doesn't matter how disorganized, or irrelevant, or halfassed the writing is. put whatever you want in it. and it doesn't have to be every single day that you have to write. just write whenever you feel like putting something that's bothering you on paper. Anyways, thats what helps me want to write  Lol. i take it with me wherever i go in case i have thoughts about something that i really want to write down before it gets lost.

Right now it might seem aimless and strange because you're still new to it, journaling in the beginning for me was about finding some resolution or understanding about myself, other's, the situation, in whatever way I possibly could, writing my view on things, how I feel, what I'm thinking, asking myself questions, problem solving.

In the beginning your gonna suck just like any new endeavor, but the more you just do it and do it and do it you'll get better and better.