Matt23

Meditation And Back Pain/belly Breathing

5 posts in this topic

I've been meditating for a couple years now, and I've experienced some amazing benefits from it.  One thing I have been having a little trouble with is back pain.  I've heard that belly breathing is the type of breathing best suited for calming the mind.  Though, when I do this it deactivates my abdominal muscles, therefore making my lower back (and upper sometimes) start to ache.  I was instructed by a Pilates teacher that instead of using belly breathing and relaxing the abs, it would be better for my back to flex my abs and breath from just below the scapula in the back.  It feels like the big, flat muscles in your upper back are extending out and in.  I've tried this a few times.  I notice that, though my back doesn't ache, I'm putting a lot of effort into my abs.  Resulting in my mind becoming more tense.  Therefore kind of defeating the purpose of meditation for me. 

Basically, is it better to:  A) flex one's abs and then try to overcome the tension in the mind.  B)  Belly breath, but still have some pain in the back.  C)  Belly breath, but somehow still relieve the back at the same time?  

Let me know if you've had similar experiences, and if you've managed to overcome it and how. 

Cheer!

"Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down"   --   Marry Poppins

1 hour ago, Matt23 said:

is it better to:  A) flex one's abs and then try to overcome the tension in the mind.  B)  Belly breath, but still have some pain in the back.  C)  Belly breath, but somehow still relieve the back at the same time?  

All of the above would work, if you just accept each situation and relax into them, pain and all

or D) Sit more comfortably, put a couple coushions to support you, maybe even try meditating in a chair or on the couch, even your bed would work, you don't have to be in a certain postition to meditate, although each individual is unique, so do whatever you want. 

Hey, Matt!